Last updateTue, 17 Mar 2015 2pm

Amol Rajan, Meena Pathak, Shami Chakrabarti, Nasser Hussain among nominees for Asian Achievers 2013

This year's nominees for the Asian Achievers Awards have finally been unveiled and it features a slew of British Asians who have made headlines over the past 12 months.

The awards will recognize outstanding achievements by individuals from myriad fields, from business and the professional sphere to arts, entertainment and sports.

This year's event will also pay particular homage to the achievements of women from South Asian communities.

Among the notable nominees this year are Meena Pathak, OBE, the driving force behind the Pathak's food brand in the category of "Woman of the Year"; Vishal Ladwa, Captain of the England Men's Kabbadi Team in the "Sports Personality of the Year" category; Piara Singh Aulakh MBE, Director of the Sikh Human Rights Group and founder of the Gurdwara Sri Guru Singh Sabha in Hounslow for his services to the community; The Independent's Editor Amol Rajan, the first non-white Editor of a national daily in the Media, Arts and Culture category and Nandita Parshad, a Director at the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) in the Professional of the Year.

Former England cricket captain turned commentator Nasser Hussain OBE, Vedanta Resources founder Anil Agarwal, the Hinduja Brothers and British centenarian marathon runner Fauja Singh will vie for the special Lifetime Achievement award on the night.

The awards ceremony at the plush Grosvenor House Hotel on London's Park Lane will also feature a number of high-profile performers and musicians whilst an auction will help raise funds for the anti-human trafficking charity, The LILY Foundation.

Mr. CB Patel, Chairman of ABPL Group, organizers of the event, said: “The Asian Achievers Awards is much more than any normal awards. It is unique, it is all-inclusive and it is innovative. Unique because we receive nominations from our subscribers, readers and member of the public. Fair because an independent panel of judges select the winners from the nominations received. Innovative because first, we give 'unsung heroes' from the community an opportunity to be appreciated for their actual talents."

The Asian Achievement Awards 2013 takes place 06 September 2013.

The Full List of Nominees:

Woman of the Year:

Farida Gibbs, CEO of GibbsS3
Kamal Basran OBE, Owner and Non-Executive Director, Authentic Food Company
Baljinder Boparan, Chief Executive, The 2 Sisters Food Group
Meena Pathak OBE, Co-Founder Pathak Foods.

Business Person of the Year:

Thembalath Ramachandran, Chief Executive and Managing Director, Bristol Laboratories Ltd
Firoz Tejani, CEO International Currency Exchange
Mumtaz Khan, Founder and Co-owner, Mumtaz brand
Dilesh Mehta, CEO and Chairman, Shaneel Enterprises Ltd.

Sports Personality of the Year:

Saddiqa Khan, Footballer, Physiotherapist, Sporting Pathways Ambassador
Ruqsana Begum, Kickboxer
Vishal Ladwa, Captain, England Men’s Kabaddi team
Kiran Matharu, Golfer.

Achievement in Community Service:

Piara Singh Aulakh MBE, Director, Sikh Human Rights Group
Professor Naina Patel OBE, Founder, Policy Research Institute on Community and Inter-faith Relations (PRIAE) UK
Dorab Erach Mistry, Founder, Zoroastrian Centre for Europe
Charan Kanwal Sekhon, fundraiser, Town Councillor and Regional Coordinator for the UK’s leading Yoga charity.
Media, Arts and Culture:

Amol Rajan, Editor, The Independent
Seeta Indrani, Actress and Performer
Kiran Shah, Actor, Stuntman and Performer
Navin Kundra, Musician.
Uniformed and Civil Services:

Satya P. Minhas, Deputy Chairperson, Metropolitan Police
Ravi Chand CBE, Head of Capability, Talent & Diversity, Home Office
Surjeet Manku, Chief Superintendent
Shami Chakrabarti, Director, Liberty
Young Entrepreneur:

Rajeeb Dey, Ambassador for Enterprise UK
Aruna Seth, Business Creative Director, Aruna Seth Shoes
Faiza Seth, Founder, Casa Forma luxury interior design
Nick Madhavji, Joskos.
Professional of the Year:

Arun Batra, CEO, National Equality Standard Director, UK&I Advisory (Ernst & Young)
Nandita Parshad, Director, Power & Energy Utilities Team, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
Professor Soraya Dhillon MBE, Head of the School of Pharmacy, University of Hertfordshire
Dr Ajay Gupta, Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon, Director of the UK Indian Healthcare Corporation (UKIHCC) and Director of Rajan Healthcare Ltd.
Lifetime Achievement:

Nasser Hussain OBE
Fauja Singh
The Hinduja Brothers
Anil Agarwal



Related Articles

Photo Gallery- Featured

  • latest Post

  • Most Read

Addmotor electric bike shop

Beauties' Secret cosmetic and skincare

DecorCollection European design furniture| sofa hk| sofas| beds| coffee tables| dining tables| dining chairs| sideboards| furniture hk| Cattelan Italia| Koinor

Wycombe Abbey| private school hong kong| English primary school Hong Kong| primary education| top schools in Hong Kong| best international schools hong kong| best primary schools in hong kong| school day| boarding school Hong Kong| Wycombe Abbey School