Last updateTue, 17 Mar 2015 2pm

#Prestige: Neel Mukherjee named to Booker Prize longlist for 'The Lives of Others'

British Indian author Neel Mukherjee has been named in this year's long-list for the prestigious Man Booker Prize for his acclaimed novel 'The Lives of Others'.

The Oxford and Cambridge-educated author is among a list of 13 authors - including one former winner and two previously shortlisted authors - nominated for the best original novel written in the English language.

The Booker Prize is no longer restricted to authors from the Commonwealth, the Republic of Ireland or Zimbabwe but open to writers from across the globe writing in English.

'The Lives of Others' is London-based Mukherjee's third novel, after 'Past Continuous' (2008) and 'A Life Apart' (2010).

The story is set in Mukherjee's birthplace of Calcutta of the late 1960's. A young man, Supratik, has become involved in extremist politics unbeknownst to his family, the Ghoshes. Supratik's new-found political activism however, is merely one of a plethora of problems shifting the foundations upon which rest the sprawling Ghosh family.

The Ghoshe's turmoil mirror the intense political and industrial unrest that gripped Bengal in the 1960's and 1970's and which transformed the entire sub-continent.

The book received widespread acclaim when it was published in May.

Author Amitav Ghosh described 'The Lives of Others' as "searing, savage and deeply moving: an unforgettably vivid picture of a time of turmoil".

The Sunday Times called it "Rich and Engrossing" whilst Anita Sethi, writing in the Observer, said it an "ambitious" novel that "excellently exposes the gulf between rich and poor, young and old, tradition and modernity" that continue to divide India whilst also showing how empathy can "bridge those divides".

Mukherjee is joined on the Booker longlist by Howard Jacobson ('J'), Paul Kingsnorth ('The Wake'), David Mitchell ('The Bone Clocks'), David Nicholls ('Us'), Ali Smith ('How to be Both'), Joseph O'Neill ('The Dog'), Richard Powers ('Orfeo'), Richard Flanagan ('The Narrow Road to the Deep North'), Karen Joy Fowler ('We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves'), Joshua Ferris ('To Rise Again at a Decent Hour'), Niall Williams ('History of the Rain') and Siri Hustvedt ('The Blazing World').

The 2014 shortlist will be announced 9 September while the £50,000 prize will be awarded the winner on 14 October.



Related Articles

Photo Gallery- Featured

  • latest Post

  • Most Read

雪茄| 雪茄烟网购/雪茄网购| 雪茄专卖店| 古巴雪茄专卖网| 古巴雪茄价格| 雪茄价格| 雪茄怎么抽| 雪茄哪里买| 雪茄海淘| 古巴雪茄品牌| 推荐一个卖雪茄的网站| 非古雪茄| 陈年雪茄| 限量版雪茄| 高希霸| 帕特加斯d4| 保利华雪茄| 大卫杜夫雪茄| 蒙特雪茄| 好友雪茄

古巴雪茄品牌| 非古雪茄品牌

Addmotor electric bike shop| Electric bikes shop / electric bicycle shop Electric bike review| Electric trike| Fat tire electric bike| Best electric bike| Electric bicycle/E bike| Electric bikes for sale| Folding electric bike| Electric mountain bike

Tomtop| Online shop| Online Einkaufen

Beauties' Secret|

地產代理/物業投資| 租辦公室/租寫字樓| 地產新聞| 甲級寫字樓/頂手| Grade A Office| Commercial Building| Hong Kong Office Rental / Rent Office| Office building| Office for lease / office leasing| Office building| Office relocation Office for sale|

DecorCollection European design furniture| sofa hk| sofas| beds| coffee tables| dining tables| dining chairs| sideboards| furniture hk| Cattelan Italia| Koinor

Wycombe Abbey| private school hong kong| English primary school Hong Kong| primary education| top schools in Hong Kong| best international schools hong kong| best primary schools in hong kong| school day| boarding school Hong Kong| Wycombe Abbey School

邮件营销| 電郵推廣| 邮件群发软件| Email Marketing| 搜尋引擎優化 SEO